The sixth release in the Lucky Nights series from Lucky Life Music sees an unlikely pairing between label boss Ben Fhurst and label stalwart Rufus White.

Musically speaking, Rufus and Ben have very different viewpoints. Rufus is fuelled by funk and Ben is powered by techno. This led them to utilise a new approach to producing these tracks involving the use of a single separate image to inspire both tracks. The tracks effectively became the “soundtrack” for those images.

The resulting collaborations on this two track EP are a pleasant surprise.

The first track, “The Redhead”, is a melodic tech number driven by xylophone and piano riffs that explode into a trance like climax. Already doing the early rounds in Ibiza this summer, this track is a one to keep an eye on.

“Conveyor Belt” is the second tougher offering on the EP. Filthy bass, massive stabby lead synth and solid drums combine to create a proper techno belter that has been road tested on the Ibiza circuit with winning results.

The Lucky Nights 006 EP is out on 29 June.